Erlebnis-Raum Taufe

Well, I have not been baptized…
Information for those interested in baptism

A Christian ritual

Baptism is a Christian ritual which has been practiced as long as there were Christians. There is the story of Jesus being baptized by a man named ‘John the Baptist’ in the river Jordan in Israel.

The practice of baptism

During the past centuries, the practice of baptism has changed in many ways. For example, from around 400 onward, the practice of adult baptism changed to infant baptism. Today, this is the case in the Roman-Catholic Church worldwide and in the protestant territorial churches in Germany. During the past years, there have been growing numbers of adult baptism in Germany. Most protestant free-churches practice adult baptism only.

Baptizing a small child

Baptizing a small child is an expression of the parents’ desire to include their child in a tradition which is meaningful to them. Learning about faith will take place at confirmation class at the latest. Confirmation class is ended by the confirmand’s own, free-will affirmation of his or her baptism.

Adult baptism

Adult baptism means the end of a time of preparation for it and the beginning of a new life:
Normally before adult baptism there is a longer period of curiosity about bible and Christian faith. During this period the desire is often awakened to believe and live as a Christian. For that way of life baptism is the visible sign. Baptism is followed by the task to live as a Christian. Martin Luther once famously wrote: ˮTo lead life as a Christian means nothing else but daily baptism, started once, and forever walking in it.”

The visible and the invisible side of baptism

The visible side is belonging to the world-wide communion of the baptized and membership in a church (protestant territorial church, roman-catholic diocese, protestant free-church or others.)

The invisible side, accepted by faith, is the promise that all people who are baptized are ”God’s beloved children”, and that they have been baptized ”into death and resurrection of Christ”.

God’s promise: ”I am there for you” is answered by those, who want to be baptized with the words: ”I believe in you, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.”

For further information see: www.ekd.de/einsteiger/taufe

Erlebnis-Raum Taufe

Also ich bin nicht getauft…
Informationen für Interessierte

Ein christliches Ritual

Taufe ist ein christliches Ritual, das schon so lange praktiziert wird, wie es Christen und Christinnen gibt. Schon von Jesus wird erzählt, dass er sich von einem Mann mit dem Namen ‚Johannes‘ im Jordan (Fluss in Israel) hat taufen lassen.

Taufpraxis

Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte haben sich in der Taufpraxis viele Veränderungen ergeben. Zum Beispiel wurde aus der Erwachsenentaufe der Anfänge ab dem 4. Jahrhundert die Kindertaufe der Normalfall. Das gilt weltweit für die röm.-kath. Kirche und für die evangelischen Landeskirchen in Deutschland bis heute. In den letzten Jahren hat aber auch hier die Zahl der Erwachsenentaufen wieder zugenommen. In den meisten evangelischen Freikirchen werden ausschließlich Erwachsene getauft.

Kindertaufe

In der Kindertaufe drückt sich der Wunsch der Eltern aus, ihre Kinder in eine Tradition mit hineinzunehmen, die ihnen selbst etwas bedeutet. Die Aufklärung über Inhalte des christlichen Glaubens geschieht spätestens im Konfirmandenunterricht, an dessen Ende das eigene ‚Ja‘ des Konfirmanden, der Konfirmandin zur Taufe im Kindesalter steht.

Taufe im Erwachsenenalter

Taufe im Erwachsenenalter bedeutet das Ende eines Vorbereitungs-Weges und zugleich den Beginn eines Lebens-Weges:
Üblicherweise geht der Taufe ein längerer Weg der Neugier gegenüber der Bibel und dem christlichen Glauben voraus. Auf diesem Weg reift dann oftmals der Wunsch, selber als Christ glauben und leben zu wollen. Die Taufe ist dafür das sichtbare Zeichen. Aus der Taufe erwächst die Aufgabe, ein Leben als Christenmensch zu gestalten. Martin Luther hat einmal geschrieben, dass ‚ein christliches Leben nichts anderes ist denn eine tägliche Taufe, einmal angefangen und immer darin gegangen.‘

Taufe hat eine sichtbare und eine unsichtbare Seite

Die sichtbare Seite ist die Zugehörigkeit zur weltweiten Gemeinschaft der Getauften und die Mitgliedschaft in einer kirchlichen Organisation (evangelische Landeskirche, katholisches Bistum, evangelische Freikirche oder anderes).

Die unsichtbare - geglaubte Seite ist die Zusage, dass die Getauften ‚Gottes geliebte Kinder‘ sind und ‚in den Tod und die Auferstehung Jesu hineingetauft sind‘.

Auf die Zusage, das Versprechen Gottes: „Ich bin für dich da“ bekennen die Taufwilligen: „Ich glaube an dich, den Vater, den Sohn und den Heiligen Geist.“

Weiter Infos unter: www.ekd.de/einsteiger/taufe