Erlebnis-Raum Taufe

Baptism 2017
The position of the churches today

Baptism 2017

Design of baptismal font by Lisa Reizig
Design of baptismal font by Lisa Reizig

In the Ev.-luth. Church of Hanover every year 22.000 children and 1.800 adults (above the age of 14) are baptized. Fora few years now, the average age of children, who are baptized, is rising. At the same time, the cases of numbers of adult baptisms are rising. Adult baptism mostly is preceded by intensive preparation.

Baptizing children is based on the belief that God’s grace precedes all human activity (Latin ‘gratia praeveniens’). God’s grace, given in advance, is regarded as a criterion stronger than any human criterion. To the little child, having no other gift than life itself, the pledge is given: ”Because of Christ you are a child loved by God. You shall belong to the worldwide community of believers.”

Baptism, understood in this way, first of all is a gift of God to man, which shall not be kept from anyone who asks for it. Only as a second thought baptism is consequential for a church’s organization. This has led to the understanding that only as an exception the church can refuse to baptize.

This change in the understanding of baptism is reflected by the Magdeburg Declaration from 2007. In it the 11 member churches of the Working Group of Christian Churches in Germany (ACK) have agreed on mutual recognition of baptism in all of the 11 member churches. The most important passage of the document says:

ˮThat is why we recognize every baptism which has been done according to the order of Jesus in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit with submersion or the application of water, and we are glad for every person who has been baptized. Our mutual recognition of baptism is an expression of our unity in Christ (Ephesians 4:4-6). All baptisms done in this way are singular and must not cannot be repeated.”
Excerpt Magdeburg Declaration, April 29, 2007

As a rule baptism takes place in a church. However, inspired by ˮThe Year of Baptism 2011” in our territorial church, large ”festivals of baptism” have been established. During these festivals persons of all ages are baptized, followed by a party for all attending. Often these festivals are open-air events on a river or on a lake.

Baptizing small children and caring about the theological meaning of baptism has consequences: it is followed by the responsibility of the congregation to stay in close touch with the family of the newly baptized child and to regularly offer services remembering baptism. Proper procedures for this are being developed.

  • Roman-Catholic Church
  • Ev. Church in Germany (EKD)
  • Orthodox Church in Germany
  • Ev.-methodist Church
  • Free Ev.-luth. Church
  • Armenian-Apostolic Orthodox Church in Germany
  • Catholic Diocese of the Old-Catholic Church in Germany
  • Ethiopian-Orthodox Church
  • Ev.-Old Reformed Church in Lower Saxony
  • Church of the Brethren (Herrnhut)
  • Association of Anglican-Episcopal Congregations in Germany

Erlebnis-Raum Taufe

Taufe 2017
Wie stehen die Kirchen heute zur Taufe

Taufe 2017

Entwurf Taufschale von Lisa Reizig
Entwurf Taufschale von Lisa Reizig

In der Evangelisch-lutherischen Landeskirche Hannovers werden jährlich ca. 22.000 Kinder und ca. 1.800 Erwachsene (ab 14 Jahre) getauft. Seit einigen Jahren ist zu beobachten, dass das Durchschnittsalter der getauften Kinder steigt. Gleichzeitig ist die Zahl derer gestiegen, die sich als Erwachsene taufen lassen. Diesen Taufen geht in der Regel eine intensive Vorbereitung voraus.

Die Praxis der Kindertaufe ist begründet in der Überzeugung, dass Gottes Gnade allem menschlichen Tun vorausgeht (lat. gratia praeveniens). Diese vorauslaufende Gnade Gottes wird als Kriterium für die Taufe höher gewichtet als alle denkbaren menschlichen Kriterien. Dem kleinen Kind, das außer seiner bloßen Lebendigkeit noch keine Qualitäten mitbringt, wird zugesagt: „Du bist um Christi Willen Gottes geliebtes Kind. Du sollst zur weltweiten Gemeinde der Getauften gehören.“

Die so verstandene Taufe ist in erster Linie ein Geschenk Gottes an den Menschen, das niemandem vorenthalten werden kann, der darum nachfragt. Erst in zweiter Linie hat Taufe auch Konsequenzen für kirchliche Organisationsstrukturen. Dieses Taufverständnis hat dazu geführt, dass eine Taufe heute nur noch in Ausnahmefällen verwehrt werden kann.

Ein Wandel im Verständnis der Taufe findet seinen Ausdruck auch in der Magdeburger Erklärung aus dem Jahr 2007. Darin haben 11 Mitgliedskirchen der Arbeitsgemeinschaft christlicher Kirchen (ACK) in Deutschland eine gegenseitige Anerkennung der Taufpraxis vereinbart. Der entscheidende Text lautet:

"Deshalb erkennen wir jede nach dem Auftrag Jesu im Namen des Vaters und des Sohnes und des Heiligen Geistes mit der Zeichenhandlung des Untertauchens im Wasser bzw. des Übergießens mit Wasser vollzogene Taufe an und freuen uns über jeden Menschen, der getauft wird. Diese wechselseitige Anerkennung der Taufe ist Ausdruck des in Jesus Christus gründenden Bandes der Einheit (Epheser 4,4-6). Die so vollzogene Taufe ist einmalig und unwiederholbar."
Auszug Magdeburger Erklärung, 29.4.2007

Grundsätzlich findet die Taufe in einem Kirchenraum statt. Angeregt durch das ‚Jahr der Taufe 2011‘ haben sich in unserer Landeskirche aber auch Tauffeste etabliert, bei denen mehrere Kinder unterschiedlichen Alters getauft werden und Familienangehörige und Gäste zu einer anschließenden gemeinsamen Feier eingeladen sind. Diese Tauffeste finden oftmals ‚open air‘ an Flussläufen oder Seen statt.

Die Praxis der Kindertaufe und das Ernstnehmen der theologischen Bedeutung der Taufe haben zur Folge, dass die taufende Gemeinde/Kirche engen Kontakt zu den Tauffamilien halten muss und zum regelmäßigen Taufgedenken einlädt. Dazu werden im Moment geeignete Modelle entwickelt.

  • Römisch-katholische Kirche
  • Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland
  • Orthodoxe Kirche in Deutschland
  • Evangelisch-methodistische Kirche
  • Selbständige Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche
  • Armenisch-Apostolische Orthodoxe Kirche in Deutschland
  • Katholisches Bistum der Alt-Katholiken in Deutschland
  • Äthiopisch-Orthodoxe Kirche
  • Evangelisch-altreformierte Kirche in Niedersachsen
  • Evangelische Brüder-Unität – Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine
  • Arbeitsgemeinschaft Anglikanisch-Episkopaler Gemeinden in Deutschland